Point FM Sport — February 10, 2017 at 2:09 pm — Updated: February 10, 2017 at 2:09 pm

Wales U18 Squad Named


Manager Mark Pike has named his Wales U18 Academy squad for the upcoming fixtures against Republic of Ireland at Bala (21st February) and Newtown (23rd February) as his young side look to retain the John Coughlan Memorial Cup.
Now a regular part of the international calendar, Pike has enlisted the help of former Wales defender Steve Evans, who made seven appearances for Wales between 2006 and 2008, to add experience to his backroom staff and raise the profile of a team growing in stature with each passing year.
With players selected from clubs within the FAW Academy structure, development is very much the name of the game, but success last year in Ireland was testament to how the team has evolved.
Pike said: “How we selected players when I first took on the role was extremely difficult. We didn’t know anyone and there was no system in place for selection. It was run as a pilot prior to my arrival and I was brought in to create a structure. The toughest challenge now is selecting the squad because there are so many talented players eligible.
“The training camps have gone really well. The players that have come in have been magnificent. We’ve looked at over 150 players and now we’re down to the last 18. Hopefully they will do well over the two games.
“Bringing the trophy home from Ireland last year was a huge success for us. But for me personally, it’s about the lads enjoying themselves in an environment that enables them to play international football. I’m a proud Welshman, Steve Evans is a proud Welshman, and we want proud players to represent the country.”
Iwan Roberts (Carmarthen Town)
Oliver Farebrother (Aberystwyth Town)
Tyler Aylward (Port Talbot Town)
Jordan Pike (Port Talbot Town)
Owen Williams (Merthyr Town)
Daniel Roberts (Rhyl)
Daniel Slawson (The New Saints)
Zebb Edwards (Airbus UK Broughton)
Jack Rimmer Aberystwyth Town Fc
Michael George (Barry Town United)
Aron Hughes-Jones (The New Saints)
Daniel Williams (Pontardawe Town)
Sam Haddon (Gap Connahs Quay)
Andrew Vale (The New Saints)
Harri Horwood (Aberystwyth Town)
Jack Todd (Afan Lido)
Cameron Keetch (Cambrian & Clydach Vale)
Sam Ashworth (The New Saints)

Leave A Comment Using Facebook (Website Comment Form Below)

Use the form below to post a comment via facebook

Comments are closed.

68 queries in 1.018 seconds.