Local News & Archive — May 12, 2016 at 10:15 am — Updated: May 12, 2016 at 10:15 am

Vale of Clwyd AM named deputy presiding officer



[responsivevoice_button voice=”UK English Female” buttontext=”Listen to Post”]

The Labour AM for the Vale of Clwyd has been elected as the new Deputy Presiding Officer for the Welsh Assembly.

Ann Jones beat Newport East AM John Griffiths by 30 votes to 29 on Wednesday to become second-in-command to Elin Jones. She replaces David Melding, the Conservative AM for South Wales Central, who ruled himself out of running for presiding officer.

Mrs Jones was elected for a fifth successive term to the Senedd last Thursday, but saw her majority cut from over 4,000 to 768, following a close-fought challenge by Conservative candidate and Abergele mayor Sam Rowlands.

The new presiding officer – Plaid Cymru’s AM for Ceredigion – defeated Lord Dafydd Elis Thomas, who oversaw Assembly sessions from 1999 to 2011. His successor, Labour’s Dame Rosemary Butler, stood down before last week’s elections.

Neither officer took part in Wednesday’s vote for a First Minister between Carwyn Jones and Leanne Wood, which ended in a deadlock.

Leave A Comment Using Facebook (Website Comment Form Below)

Use the form below to post a comment via facebook

Comments are closed.

68 queries in 2.045 seconds.