Local News & Archive — May 13, 2016 at 9:45 am — Updated: May 13, 2016 at 9:45 am

Six-way fight for Dyserth council by-election



[responsivevoice_button voice=”UK English Female” buttontext=”Listen to Post”]

Six candidates will stand in next month’s Dyserth by-election for a Denbighshire County Council seat.

The poll on Thursday 2nd June will be fought between Andy Hughes (Welsh Conservatives), Richard Jones-Abbas (Welsh Labour), Heather Prydderch (Welsh Liberal Democrats), Janice Ann Williams (Plaid Cymru) and two independent candidates – Dave Parry and David Williams.

Meanwhile, a further three candidates will vie for a vacant Dyserth Community Council seat on the same day – they are Cathy Jackson for the Welsh Liberal Democrats and independents John Glover and Louise Walsh.

Both polls were triggered by the death of Peter Owen, a Conservative councillor and former mayor of Rhuddlan, who died in March after a long battle with cancer. He held the seats on both councils for twelve years.

Another poll will also take place to elect a county councillor for Lower Denbigh on the same day.

Meanwhile, four candidates will stand for three vacant seats on Towyn and Kinmel Bay Council. Three independents – Sue Evans, Barry Griffiths and Michael Smith – and a Welsh Conservative candidate, Frederick Jones, will contest the by-election on Thursday 9th April.

Leave A Comment Using Facebook (Website Comment Form Below)

Use the form below to post a comment via facebook

Comments are closed.

68 queries in 1.011 seconds.