Local News & Archive — June 9, 2017 at 8:05 am — Updated: June 9, 2017 at 8:05 am

Election 2017: Tories hold Clwyd West


The Conservatives have held onto Clwyd West – but have seen their majority halved.

David Jones, the Minister for Exiting the EU, was elected for his fourth term at Westminster – but the Tories’ vote fell from a 6,730-strong lead two years ago to 3,437 this time around.

Former Labour MP, Gareth Thomas, was runner-up despite Jeremy Corbyn’s rally appearance in Colwyn Bay on the final day of the campaign.

Plaid Cymru polled third with former Conwy County Council leader Dilwyn Roberts but their share of the vote fell from 12% to 10%. The Liberal Democrats’ share was down slightly on 2015, with their candidate Victor Babu.

Turnout was 69.93%, up from 64.83% at the last general election.


David Ian Jones (Conservative): 19,541 (48%)
Gareth Thomas (Labour): 16,104 (40%)
Dilwyn Owain Roberts (Plaid Cymru): 3,918 (10%)
Victor Babu (Liberal Democrats): 1,091 (3%)

Majority: 3,437

Leave A Comment Using Facebook (Website Comment Form Below)

Use the form below to post a comment via facebook

Comments are closed.

68 queries in 1.015 seconds.