Regional News — April 29, 2017 at 7:30 am — Updated: April 30, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Election 2017: council leader enters Clwyd West battle


Dilwyn Roberts

The leader of Conwy County Council has been chosen as a Plaid Cymru candidate for the General Election.

Dilwyn Roberts is stepping down as a councillor for Llangernyw after thirteen years to fight for the Clwyd West seat, held by the Conservatives’ David Jones with a majority of over 6,700.

Mr Roberts, who has led the county council for the past nine years, said: ‘‘I look forward to talking to voters about my vision to improve the area and what has already been achieved through my work in delivering on specific projects along the coast…I’m looking forward to working with Plaid Cymru colleagues in Parliament to ensure we get the best possible deal for Wales and in particular for this part of the country from any future Government.”

Elections for fifty two seats on Conwy County Council take place on Thursday 4th May.

Gareth Thomas

Meanwhile, a former Clwyd West MP will be bidding to regain his Westminster seat for Labour. Gareth Thomas represented the constituency from 1997 to 2005, when he was beaten by the Tories’ incumbent with a majority of just 133.

Mr Thomas said: ”I have been out campaigning for the local election and have had a lot of support from people on the doorstep which is why I have decided to return…we were in clear second place last time and are in the best position to beat the Conservatives here. I voted to remain but this election is going to be about more than Brexit. If elected, I would oppose any deal which endangered the local and rural economy and jobs.”

David Jones was officially reselected as the Conservatives’ candidate last Saturday. The minister for exiting the European Union, who led the Welsh Brexit campaign, was named the 2016 Welsh Politician of the Year by ITV Cymru Wales.

Leave A Comment Using Facebook (Website Comment Form Below)

Use the form below to post a comment via facebook

Comments are closed.

72 queries in 1.889 seconds.