Local News & Archive — May 12, 2017 at 7:00 am — Updated: May 15, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Election 2017: candidates confirmed


The lists of candidates have been confirmed for the two Westminster seats in the Point FM area at the General Election on Thursday 8th June.

Both the Vale of Clwyd and Clwyd West are held by the Conservatives – and both constituencies will see a four-way run off between the Tories, Labour, the Liberal Democrats and Plaid Cymru.


One of the biggest Welsh results at the last election two years saw the Conservatives take the Vale of Clwyd from Labour after eighteen years. But just 237 votes separated incumbent Dr James Davies from the Vale’s first MP Chris Ruane, who is seeking a Westminster comeback.

Former county councillor Gwyn Williams returns for a second election as the Liberal Democrats while newly elected Bodelwyddan town councillor David Wyatt becomes Plaid Cymru’s challenger.

  • DR JAMES DAVIES (Welsh Conservatives)
  • CHRIS RUANE (Welsh Labour)
  • GWYN WILLIAMS (Welsh Liberal Democrats)
  • DAVID WYATT (Plaid Cymru)


Since he was elected in 2005, ex-Welsh Secretary turned Brexit minister David Jones has strengthened the Tories’ majority from just 133 to 6,730 over the past three General Elections.

The man he replaced in Clwyd West – Labour’s Gareth Thomas – will make another attempt to outseat him, joined by former Conwy County Council leader Dilwyn Roberts, who stood down at the local elections to focus on his Westminster candidacy for Plaid.

And after seeing their vote slashed by over two thirds in 2015, Ysbyty Glan Clwyd surgeon Dr Victor Babu takes over as the Liberal Democrats’ candidate.

  • DR VICTOR BABU (Welsh Liberal Democrats)
  • DAVID JONES (Welsh Conservatives)
  • DILWYN ROBERTS (Plaid Cymru)
  • GARETH THOMAS (Welsh Labour)

Leave A Comment Using Facebook (Website Comment Form Below)

Use the form below to post a comment via facebook

Comments are closed.

67 queries in 1.031 seconds.