Local News & Archive — December 7, 2016 at 9:00 am — Updated: December 7, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Clwyd West MP named Welsh Politician of the Year



The Clwyd West MP who led the Welsh campaign for Brexit has been named the Welsh Politician of the Year.

Former Welsh secretary, David Jones, won the prestigious prize at the annual ITV Cymru Wales political awards in Cardiff on Tuesday night.

He led the official Welsh referendum campaign for the UK to leave the European Union before being recalled to the UK Government as a Minister of State for Europe. Last year, he retained his Westminster seat for the Conservatives at the General Election with a 6,700-strong majority.

The judges’ chairman, Dr Denis Balsom, said: ”David Jones was sacked as Secretary of State for Wales by David Cameron, and it appeared that his time in government was over. Without doubt, the EU referendum was the most significant event of the year and it seemed appropriate to make this award to David Jones, whose return to government follows his leadership in Wales of the Leave campaign.”

Among the other winners were Labour’s new AM for Delyn, Hannah Blythyn – who was named AM to Watch after she was elected to the Senedd in May. AM of the Year went to Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood, who outseated Leighton Andrews in the Rhondda, while veteran Newport West MP, Paul Flynn (Labour), won MP of the Year for taking on two roles in Jeremy Corbyn’s shadow cabinet.

A new People’s Campaigner award went to Anna Louise-Bates, who raised £100,000 for her organ donation charity ‘Believe’, set up after her husband and son were killed when they were hit by a car in Talbot Green last December.

The awards ceremony can be seen on ITV Cymru Wales in a special programme on Tuesday 13th December at 10.40pm.

Leave A Comment Using Facebook (Website Comment Form Below)

Use the form below to post a comment via facebook

Comments are closed.

68 queries in 1.943 seconds.